The Bathford Society

Picture: Church Farm (D. Howells 2007)

Church Farm

Chapman's Farm in Pump Lane has been known as Church Farm since 1905 and was farmed until recent times. It received its earlier name after it was purchased by the Reverend John Chapman, vicar of Weston, Bath in 1719. He was succeeded as owner by his son, another Reverend John Chapman who was vicar of Newton St. Loe and later archdeacon of Bath.

Another member of the family, Charles Chapman, left 150 in his Will to build the barn in 1809, when the property descended to his nephew, Captain John Chapman. He is remembered for presenting to the City his unique library of books and engravings relating to Bath and its neighbourhood, now in Bath Reference Library and known as the Chapman Collection. The Chapman family owned the farm until early this century. The farmhouse, Church Farm, is a private residence.

Source: Bathford Past and Present
© Bathford Society 2007 | Sources | Copyright | Privacy Policy | Site Layout | Technical | Contact Us